Yorkshire secure victory in memory of race founder

Yorkshire Cycle Speedway v Greater Manchester
Yorkshire Cycle Speedway v Greater Manchester

Yorkshire cycle speedway team defeat Greater Manchester 93-86 in the Jeff Layden Cup at Firth Park, Heckmondwike.

revived in honour of the former Heckmondwike president, who sadly passed away last December.

Jeff was the instigator for the matches back in the early 1980s and this was a fitting tribute to remember him by.

Son David and grandson Chris were present to hand out the trophies to the riders, plus the cup to winning captain Andy Angell.

Yorkshire featured Sheffield Elite League riders Angell, Pawel Idziorek and Bobby McMillan.

The opening race saw the Hull pairing of Angell and Sam Schofield secure a 6-4 advantage over Chris Parrish and Reece Pollitt.

A drawn heat followed before Greater Manchester’s Ben Higham and Ben Scrannag secured a 7-3 win over Darren Kent and Jason Burke, who both rode in the original fixtures.

Yorkshire hit straight back with their own 7-3 win, as McMillan joined Richard Hudson for the maximum score over Parrish and Joe Pickford.

Adam Stephenson won heat five, with Pollitt preventing a maximum by gaining second place over Schofield.

Yorkshire moved into a six point lead as McMillan and Kent beat Terry Norman and Jack Lush 6-4 in heat six.

Yorkshire went on to build a 70-60 lead after 14 heats and retained their advantage with a drawn 15th heat.

Schofield produced terrific race 16 win over Norman and Parrish before Adam Watson was excluded for slowing down heat 17.

Heckmondwike pairing Idziorek and Kent sealed a white rose win with an electrifying pass on Scrannage in the final heat.

Yorkshire scores: Pawel Idziorek 16(4), Andy Angell 13+1(4), Adam Stephenson 13(4), Bobby McMillan 12+1 (4), Richard Hudson 11(4), Sam Schofield 10(3), Jason Burke 6+1 (4), Darren Kent 6(4), Adam Watson 6(4).

Greater Manchester: Ben Scrannage 15+2(5), Jack Lush 13(5), Chris Parrish 12+2(5), Terry Norman 11+1 (4), Reece Pollitt 10+1(5), Ben Higham 9+2(4), Joe Pickford 8+1(4), Danny Taylor 8(4).