Third singles title for Codman

Thomas Codman won the Overthorpe Bowls singles title
Thomas Codman won the Overthorpe Bowls singles title

Thomas Codman won the Overthorpe Sports Club bowls singles title for the third time after a 21-12 triumph over Alex Wolfenden.

Codman was in excellent form throughout the competition and beat Tony Hammond 21-14, Pauline Ratcliffe 21-9 and Danny Ratcliffe 21-7 before seeing-off James Payne 21-15 in the semi-final.

On his way to the final, Wolfenden defeated Michael Nutting 21-16, Daz Ripley 21-14, Tony Dickinson 21-7 and Kierran Ripley 21-7.

The club would like to thank Steve Wainwright, Thornhill’s local bookmaker, for his sponsorship.

n Lower Hopton bowler George Mallinson won the Ronnie Walker Trophy at Cleckheaton Sports last Friday.

Mallinson edged out Morton House opponent Roger Lunn 21-19 in an exciting final after vanquishing K Woodhead and J Green in the earlier rounds.

Lunn defeated D Willmott and B Firth on his way to the final.

Mirfield Pairs preliminaries (June 18) draw - Cowcliffe Libs: DJ Simmonds & M Wilde; D Lowery & B O’Prey; R Crowther & T Beedem; T Brook & R Chomiok; P Berry & A Lumb; D Ratcliffe & D Teal; N&S Haigh; R Walker & K Spencer-Halsall.

Lower Hopton: D Smith & G Franklin; D Batten & D Bentley; D Towning & S King; K&A Wood; R Wormald & D Fountain; P Robinson & T Rann; N Miller & M Cross; R Dunford & D Fisher.

Hanging Heaton: S Goodall & N Booth; L Holmes & M Regan; M Fulton & L Thompson; J Blackburn & partner; A Hodgson & N Nicholson; M&A Leach; N Gomersal & partner; C Newton & partner.

Spen Vic: D Tinker & M Luford; D Scott & G Hickey; F Hickey & I Bottomley; C Hebbard & S Gilroy; N Briggs & G Evans; B Wood & G Barraclough; S Sweeney & R Palfreeman; J Green & G Dewhirst.

Mirfield Old Bank: T Benn & N Tordoff; D Cowsill & partner; H Seehra & S Walder; S Parkin & M Goodall; M Maguire & C Wilson; AW Riley & partner; M Robinson & partner.

Marsh United: M Atkinson & G Siswick; A Heaume & M Martin; G Ratcliffe & D Pollard; S Gledhill & G Tandy; T Fowler & R Mallinson; L Peacock & partner; J McMahon & W Moseley; M&M Higgins.

Hightown: G Smith & P Blackburn; R Hitchen & partner; A Fox & J Abdy; L Murgatroyd & C Bray; R Ingham & A Mitchell; J Payne & partner; A Walker & A Fowler; N Simpson & M Fowler.

Rastrick: W Hirst & C Austin; B Holland & B Holdsworth; S Howard & A Harper; T Boothroyd & L Fallas; S&D Fox; J Shaw & N Jones; B Holt & B Waddington; R&R Walsh.

Matchplay draw will be made on the night. Start and scratch - 6.45pm.