Simpsons secure sixth league title

THE Simpsons have made it six Dewsbury League Table Tennis titles in row and have won seven titles in the last nine years.

By The Newsroom
Monday, 30th May 2011, 9:00 am

The Simpsons who are Richard Lightowler, Darren Page, Steve Crosby, Shaun Bibby, Richard Brearey, Jonathan Greaves, Ian Teale and Chris Wilding, won the league by just a point.

They confirmed the title with a 6-4 win against the second-placed team the Aardvarks.

Steve Crosby won all his three games. Darren Page won two games and Shaun Bibby one. Crosby won the final game to seal the match. Crosby won a five set win against James Brown. He came back from 2-1 down to win the final two sets.

Sign up to our daily Dewsbury Reporter Today newsletter

Brown won two games for the Aardvarks and John Stones also won a game.

The T’old Men finished third in the league after a 7-3 win over the Terriers.

Kevin Plowman and Steve Shaw won three games each and the doubles game in five sets against Bernard Oldroyd and Frank Lockwood.

Lockwood, Oldroyd and Terry Armitage all won a game each for the Terriers. Shaw’s five set win over Oldroyd was the best of the match. Oldroyd was two sets up, but Shaw made a remarkable recovery to win the next three sets.

The Cuckoos and Battyeford both finished in mid-table but the Cuckoos were 7-3 winners when the two teams played each other. Adrian Worth was MoM winning all his three games and was well supported by teammates Linda Sanderson and Phil Johnson who won two games each.

Spin player Paul Kirby won two games for Battyeford and joined with Les Fenton to win the doubles.

Battyeford won the Harding Trophy (handicap) final 5-1 against the Colts A team. The star player on the night was young Nicky Flynn who won all his three games. He was well supported by Barry Ryan and Paul Kirby who won a game each. In this trophy each player is given their own handicap mark.

The Simpsons completed a league and cup double when they won the Rosebowl Trophy 5-4 against the Cuckoos.

The final went down to a final game decider when Steve Crosby beat Phil Johnson in straight sets.

Crosby won two games for the Simpsons with Darren Page also winning two, and Ian Teale winning one. Mark Land was in fine form for the Cuckoos winning all his three games, and Adrian Worth also won a game for the Cuckoos.

Dewsbury Table

Tennis League 2010/11

P W D L F A BP Pts

Simpsons 17 14 1 2 129 41 17 46

Aardvarks 18 13 1 4 135 45 18 45

T’old Men 18 14 1 3 129 51 14 43

Battyeford 18 10 1 7 110 70 16 37

Terriers 18 9 2 7 93 87 16 36

Cuckoos 14 10 0 4 89 46 12 32

Colts A 17 6 0 11 76 94 17 29

Colts B 18 3 0 15 43 137 17 23

Spen Meths 16 2 0 14 38 122 16 20

Colts C 18 1 0 17 12 163 15 17