SHAW Cross Sharks had a full house for their open age presentation evening last Saturday.

By The Newsroom
Friday, 9th November 2012, 7:30 am

Skipper John Rourke carried off the top award - player of the year - for the third successive year.

Rourke has been the most outstanding player throughout the season in the National Conference League, winning the man of the match award 11 times.

He was followed closely by Ryan glynn, who took the players’ player award and won six MoM awards.

Sign up to our daily Dewsbury Reporter Today newsletter

Other award winners were Matthew Myers, coaches’ player of the year; Danny Flowers, young player of the year; Paul Adams, most improved player of the year; Benny Richardson, club man of the year.

There were special awards for young Shark and ball boy Elliott Richardson, and Angela Myers and Mandy Turner.

The Sharks have had a successful season, one of the highlights being victory in the Jim Brown Cup final at Mount Pleasant against Dewsbury Celtic.