Ratcliffe scoops awards treble at Trojans presentation evening

Danny Ratcliffe scooped three awards at the Thornhill Trojans presentation evening last Saturday.

Thursday, 15th November 2018, 7:46 am
Danny Ratcliffe, pictured with the Jim Brown Cup, was named Thornhill Trojans player of the year.

Ratcliffe helped Thornhill win the National Conference Division One title and was man-of-the-match in the Trojans Heavy Woollen ARL Jim Brown Cup final victory over Dewsbury Moor in August.

Ratcliffe was named player of the year, while also scooping the players and supporters player of the year awards.

The first team’s coaches special award went to Liam Morley, while Nick Mitchell was named most improved player.

Trojans A team player of the year was shared between Jonathan Hellings and Josh Clough, while Josh Gearey was named A team players and supporters player of the year, with Nick Sharp named most improved player.

The Roy Harrison Clubman of the Year went to Matt North, for the production of Trojans TV on social media

The Ged Brentnall Memorial Award for most outstanding junior was Nathaniel Broadhead.

The David Schofield Award went to forward of the year Anthony Harris, while Under-14s Girls coach and team founder Bethan Oates won the Rod Brook Award.

The Stanley Gath Award went to Stuart Springet for his work as club ambassador, while the John Bragg Award went to Jake Ratcliffe, organiser of the club’s inaugural junior tournament.

Special presentations of bottles of pink gin were made to Kim Ward, Pauline Ratcliffe and Deborah Ratcliffe.

Thornhill Trojans Annual Awards

A Team

Player of the year: Jonathan Hellings & Josh Clough (joint winners)

Players player of the year: Josh Gearey

Supporters player of the year: Josh Gearey

Most improved player: Nick Sharp

Club Awards

Roy Harrison Clubman of the Year: Matt North.

Ged Brentnall Memorial Award (most outstanding junior): Nathaniel Broadhead

David Schofield Award: Anthony Harris (forward of the year)

Rod Brook Award: Bethan Oates

Stanley Gath Award: Club ambassador Stuart Springet

John Bragg Award: Jake Ratcliffe.

First Team Awards

Player of the year: Danny Ratcliffe

Players player of the year: Danny Ratcliffe

Supporters players of the year: Danny Ratcliffe

Coach’s special award: Liam Morley

First team Most improved player: Nick Mitchell.