Mirfield Free Grammar RL side reach National final

Mirfield Free Grammar School's Year Nine Rugby League team are on the brink of National success after progressing to the Champion Schools final, which will be held as part of the Wembley weekend ahead of this year's Challenge Cup final.

By The Newsroom
Saturday, 20th May 2017, 9:05 am
Updated Sunday, 4th June 2017, 9:43 pm
Mirfield Free Grammar Schools Year 9 rugby team will compete at the National Cup final
Mirfield Free Grammar Schools Year 9 rugby team will compete at the National Cup final

Mirfield Free Grammar overcame St Bernards school from Cumbria in a tough semi-final last Wednesday.

The team produced a superb second half performance to eventually run out 36-22 winners.

The team now face Glantaf from Wales in the National Cup Final on Friday August 25.

They will then take part in the school teams parade at Wembley before the Challenge Cup Final the following day.

Kieran Rush had a terrific game in the semi-final scoring two tries and landing nine conversions.

The other Mirfield tries came from Jermaine Rose-Auty, Charlie Smith, Henry Haldenby and Parsons

Every school team in England and Wales has the opportunity to enter the competition which is run by the RFL and to reach the National rounds requires success locally and regionally.

MFG overcame Spen Valley 82-4 before edging out Manor Croft 24-22 in the Kirklees stages of the competition.

They then went on to beat Carleton 70-0 in the first round of the Yorkshire stages before recording victories over St Mary’s, Abbey Grange and Malet Lambert to reach the national stages.

MFG beat St Benedicts 76-0 in the national first round and then defeated St Peter’s School 36-10 in the last eight.

Rob Fryer, PE teacher at the school and coach of the team said: “We are all very proud of the boys and the effort they have put in to training and playing this year.

“All games have been played with great spirit and respect and we hope we can overcome the final hurdle to be crowned National Champions in August.”

Squad: Kieran Rush, Henry Haldenby, Charlie Smith, Jonah Parsons, Ethan Hogg, Jermaine Rose-Auty, Will Meehan, Mason Brame, Jackson Wood, Matthew Balderson, Jacob Beety, Connor Rabainis, James Nichols, Max Rhodes, Eddie Flexney, Kieran Auty, Rhys Graham, Tom Riley, Will Clarkson.