Crossbank’s foray comes to an end at hands of Townville as holders progress

Crossbank Methodists’ inaugural foray into England’s oldest cup competition came to an end last Sunday as they suffered a nine-wicket defeat to Townville.

Crossbank had enjoyed an impressive six-wicket win over Rastrick in the first round but they were unable to produce a huge giantkilling act against the Bradford League Premier Division visitors.

Lee Peters (30) and James Coulbourn (29) were the leading Crossbank run scorers but they were bowled out for 125 in the 42nd over.

Richie Bresnan (3-13) and Jack Hughes (3-23) were the main instigators and Townville had little probelm in passing the Crossbank total as they eased to victory in 11.4 overs.

Connor Harvey led the way with 63 not out and although Townville lost fellow opener Brayden Clark to Alex Drake, Hughes struck 34 not out to ease Townville home.

Scholes bowed out to cup against holders New Farnley, who secured a six-wicket win.

Farnley defeated Hoylandswaine in last season’s final as they won the Heavy Woollen Cup for the first time and they can look forward to a quarter-final tie on June 11.

Shoukat Ali hit 87 from 91 balls, which included nine fours and six sixes as Scholes posted a useful 226-8.

Akbar Badshah (30) also chipped in with useful runs but the Scholes total was surpassed as Farnley secured a six-wicket win.

Five times cup winners Wrenthorpe are also safely through to the last eight after an impressive win over Treeton after they chased down 235-8 to secure a six-wicket win.

Morley Seconds dismissed Gomersal for 63 on their way to a six-wicket win in the Crowther Cup first round last Sunday.

New Farnley racked up 310-4 as Chris Sowdon struck 150no in a 133-run win over Shepley.

Rastrick defeated Crossbank by 97 runs, Wrenthorpe had a 97-run win over Great Preston, Whitley Hall defeated Ossett by five wickets, while Townville beat Cawthorne by five runs.

Holders Hanging Heaton, Moorlands, Birstall, Wakefield Thornes, East Bierley, Woodlands, Methley and Kirkburton all recieved byes.