Mordue produces thrilling fight back to defeat Hynes in Spen Sweep cracker

The Spen Winter Seep continues to prove a popular competition, attracting quality fields of bowlers.

Friday, 16th November 2018, 6:15 am
Spen Victoria winter bowls qualifier Chris Mordue presented him with his prize money by Peter Ellis

The fourth round of this season’s competition saw Chris Mordue win a thrilling final 21-20 against Jimmy Hynes.

Mordue overcame Kevan Shaw 21-11 in a semi-final between two players who have won just about every honour in the game.

Another relative newcomer to the Spen sweeps was Jimmy Hynes, who faced competition regular Josh Brown in the other semi.

Sign up to our daily Dewsbury Reporter Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The lead kept changed hands several times and a cracking finale saw Brown lead 19-15 before Hynes pulled back to 19-18.

Brown moved to within sight of victory at 20-18 but Hynes won the next three chalks to seal a thrilling 21-20 win.

The quality of bowling in the final was exceptional with Hynes leading 16-15 after 25 ends and then moving 20-17 up.

Mordue fought back brilliantly, chalking a double and then levelling the match at 20-20 to before producing a winning bowl in the final end to claim victory.

Spen Winter Sweep

Week Four — Saturday November 10

Preliminary round: Michael Sweeney 21, Gordon Bradford 18; Anthony Rukin 12, Andy Gallagher 21; Josh Brown 21, Warren Wilson 9; Frank Griffin 8, Jack Dyson 21; Tony Riley 12, Andy Taylor 21; Mark Regan 21, Chris Jolley 20; Bailey Rice 7, Duncan Reeves 21; Adam Ward 17, Josh Mordue 21.

First round: Paul Holt 17, Marc Armitage 21; Chris Mordue 21, Derek Hewitt 15; Mally Fowler 14, Mitch Toth 21; Andrea Buckley 8, Kez Smith 21; Paul Morgan 14, Gary Wike 21; Chris Bly 21, Karen Hill 18; Kevan Shaw 21, Garry Walker 5; Colin Scorah 21, Lorraine Hirst 14; Andy Thornton 13, Jimmy Hynes 21; Andy Smith 21, Alan Forest 17; Ben Gloag 21, Paul Burke 5; Joe Cranston 20, Mark Connelly 21; Michael Sweeney 13, Andy Gallagher 21; Josh Brown 21, Jack Dyson 12; Andy Taylor 18, Mark Regan 21; Duncan Reeves 12, Josh Mordue 21.

Second Round: Marc Armitage 8, Chris Mordue 21; Mitch Toth 21, Kez Smith 15; Gary Wike 12, Chris Bly 21; Kevan Shaw 21, Colin Scorah 18; Jimmy Hynes 21, Andy Smith 14; Ben Gloag 18, Mark Connelly 21; Andy Gallagher 19, Josh Brown 21; Mark Regan 17, Josh Mordue 21.

Quarter-Finals: Chris Mordue 21, Mitch Toth 9; Chris Bly 8, Kevan Shaw 21; Jimmy Hynes 21, Mark Connelly 17; Josh Brown 21, Josh Mordue 6.

Semi-Finals: Chris Mordue 21, Kevan Shaw 11;Jimmy Hynes 21, Josh Brown 20.

Final: Chris Mordue 21, Jimmy Hynes 20.