Local cricket stars honoured at dinner

A number of local cricketers and clubs were honoured at last Friday’s JCT600 Bradford League dinner at the Cedar Court Hotel.

By Andrew Hunt
Friday, 6th December 2013, 9:03 am
Tim Jackson was voted JCT600 players player of the season after scoring 1,018 runs in Cleckheatons title winning campaign.
Tim Jackson was voted JCT600 players player of the season after scoring 1,018 runs in Cleckheatons title winning campaign.

Cleckheaton’s Tim Jackson won the JCT600 players’ player of the year, Gomersal batsman Richard Gould collected two awards, while Spen Victoria’s Helen Burton received the Unsung Hero Award after saving a spectator’s life during a match at Windhill in June.

Long-serving league official Bob Shackleton was given a special award in recognition of his 31 years of outstanding service. He was appointed secretary in 1982 and became chief executive in 2005, a post he held until becoming administration executive last year.

Hartshead Moor’s outstanding work in hosting the Sovereign Health Care Priestley Shield final was acknowledged with the award of the Tom Mathers Trophy, while Hanging Heaton won the Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket Award.

Sign up to our daily Dewsbury Reporter Today newsletter

Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy For outstanding service: Keith Robinson (Keighley) Special award for 30 years meritorious service Bob Shackleton. Gordon Bowers Young Cricketer of the Year Trophy: Jack Hartley (Bradford & Bingley). Ernest Lodge Trophy Young Spin Bowler of the Year: Daanyaal Ahmed (Lightcliffe). Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket Award: Hanging Heaton. Tom Mathers Ground of the Year: Hartshead Moor. JCT 600 Players’ Player of theYear: Tim Jackson (Cleckheaton). JCT 600 Unsung Hero: Helen Burton (Spen Victoria

1st Team Awards

WH Foster Jubilee Trophy 1st X1 Division One Batting Averages: Adam Waite (Pudsey St Lawrence). WH Foster Jubilee Trophy 1st X1 Division One Bowling Averages: Glenn Roberts (Pudsey Congs). Margaret E Mallinson 1stX1 Batting Averages Division Two: Richard Gould (Gomersal) . Michael Fearnley Trophy 1st X1 Division Two Bowling Averages: Rob Burton (Spen Victoria). Stafford Heginbotham Tebro Trophy Most runs: Richard Gould (Gomersal) .

Stafford Heginbotham Castle Trophy Most wickets: Rob Burton (Spen Victoria). A Waddington Fielding Trophy: Tim Jackson (Cleckheaton). Federation Trophy Fielding Division Two: Ahsan Butt (Bowling Old Lane ). F Milton Watmough Wicketkeeping Trophy 1st XI: Usman Salim (Woodlands). Parkside Trophy (Division Two Wicketkeeping Most Victims): Craig Russell (New Farnley). Stan Longbottom Safe Hands Trophy 1st X1 Most Stumpings: Matthew Duce (Pudsey St Lawrence). David Bairstow Golden Glove Trophy Most Victims in a match: Ahsan Tanveer (Undercliffe). Pennine Trophy Highest individual score: Richard Gould (Gomersal). Harry Crabtree Fastest 50 Trophy: Andrew Rennison (East Bierley). John Heaton Trophy highest opening partnership: Jonathan Boynton & Richard Gould (Gomersal). Sir Learie Constantine All Rounders Trophy Div 1: Kashif Naveed (Morley). Jack Hill All Rounders Trophy Div 2: Mark Harrison (Farsley).

2nd Team Awards

R Park Guild TrophyDiv 1 Batting Averages: Michael Brooke (Lightcliffe). JR Burnet Trophy Div 1 Bowling Average: Paul Kinder (Morley). Bruce W Moss Trophy Div 2 Batting Average: Alex Baldwin (New Farnley). W Hopkinson Div 2 Bowling Average: Chris Doey (Pudsey Congs). A Leslie Mollett Trophy Fielding: Danny Clifton (Pudsey Congs). G Palfreyman Wicketkeeping Trophy Most victims: Chris Dyer (Lightcliffe). Mick Illingworth Safe Glove Trophy Most Stumpings: Tom Loker (Spen Victoria).

inson collected the JCT600 Bradford League’s top award last Friday when he was announced winner of the Sir Len Hutton Trophy for services to cricket.

It was a deserved recognition for a 60-year association with the league in which Keith has given outstanding service as a player, umpire, club official, child welfare officer, league representative and teas guru.

Keith is best known locally from his involvement with the Heavy Woollen Cup when he supported his wife Lesley, who was competition secretary for 15 years.

Keith and Lesley are loyal supporters of junior cricket and every penny they raise in the tea room goes to support that aspect of their club. They are true volunteers in every sense of the word.