Liversedge frustrated by another stalemate

Tadcaster Albion 2

By The Newsroom
Friday, 9th November 2012, 7:00 am

Liversedge 2

LIVERSEDGE must start converting draws into wins if they are to climb the Northern Counties East League Premier Division table.

Last Saturday’s lively stalemate against The Brewers was Sedge’s fifth draw in the last six league outings and although they almost snatched all three points with two late chances, the Clayborners were again left frustrated.

Sign up to our daily Dewsbury Reporter Today newsletter

Chris Kamara fired Tadcaster into a ninth minute lead with a looping shot into the top corner.

Sedge goalkeeper Paul Hargreen was then yellow carded as he raced out of his goal and fouled an attacker near the touchline but with defenders back, he avoided a sending off.

Danny Gray curled a shot wide for the home side before Sedge equalised in the 42nd minute when James Rothell broke and fed Gibril Bojang.

He in turn laid the ball off for Chris Hirst to coolly finish for his first goal in Liversedge colours.

Liversedge took the lead seven minutes into the second half when Tate Williams made a good run and picked out Bojang, who finished well.

Tadcaster responded and drew level when Gray was allowed a free header which slipped through Hargreen’s hands and into the net.

Liversedge created a good chance when Rothell linked with Jarod Peltier to set up Bojang but his effort was well saved.

At the other end, Joe Hewitt had to be alert to clear an Albion chance off the line but it was Liversedge who finished the stronger and they could have snatched victory near the end.

Matthew Bugg went close to extending his fine scoring run when he had an effort cleared off the line before Adam Jarrett, a new signing from Wakefield FC, was also denied a goal on debut.

Liversedge have slipped to 14th in the table and entertain Arnold Town on Saturday before hosting title chasers Scarborough Athletic in the second round of the NCE League Cup next Tuesday.

Liversedge: Hargreen, Hewitt, Rothell, Hirst, Cooper, Riordan, Williams, Peltier, Bugg, Bojang, Jarrett.