Haigh’s fine season rewarded with Trojans trophy treble

Luke Haigh capped a terrific season for Thornhill Trojans by scooping a hat-trick of awards at last Saturday’s presentation.

By Andrew Hunt
Thursday, 3rd December 2015, 10:01 am
Player of the Year Luke Haigh with James Ratcliffe and Carl Gibson.
Player of the Year Luke Haigh with James Ratcliffe and Carl Gibson.

The former Hunslet Hawks and Dewsbury Rams hooker was named Thornhill’s first team player of the season, players’ player and supporters player as he helped the Trojans win promotion from National Conference Division Three at the first attempt.

Lee Smith was named most improved player.

Adam Hoyle scooped Thornhill A team’s player of the year and supporters player of the year, while Craig Holmes collected players’ player.

Sign up to our daily Dewsbury Reporter Today newsletter

The A team’s most improved player was Chris Mitchell, a special coach’s award went to Liam Morley and Pauline Ratcliffe won the John Bragg Memorial Trophy.

The Rod Brook Award was won by Mark Mitchell and collected on his behalf by sons Chris and Ryan Mitchell.

The Roy Harrison Memorial Trophy, awarded for clubman of the year, went to first team head coach James Ratcliffe, presented by Ian Harrison, son of Roy Harrison.

The Stanley Gath Memorial Trophy winners were Phil Robson and Richard Turner, presented by Trojans open age secretary Andrew Byram.