Goddard named player of the year

EAST Bierley captain Lee Goddard was voted the JCT600 Players Player of the Year at last last Friday’s Bradford League presentation evening and dinner at the Cedar Court Hotel in Bradford.

By The Newsroom
Friday, 9th November 2012, 7:15 am

Goddard topped the Division One batting averages, scoring 613 runs at 43.79, while he also led Bierley to victory in the Priestley Cup.

It was a successful evening for local clubs as the JCT600 Unsung Hero award was won by Spen Victoria’s Peter Jackson, who combines his roles as opening batsman, with the club secretary and groundsmen.

Young Gomersal wicketkeepr Tom Williams collected two awards and had a share in a third, while Woodlands captain Pieter Swanepoel won the Stafford Higgingbottom Castle Trophy for the highest aggregate wickets.

Sign up to our daily Dewsbury Reporter Today newsletter

The Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket Award went to Cleckheaton and the new Tommy Mathers Trophy for the ground of the year was won by Farsley.

Hanging Heaton’s David Stiff collected the Sir Learie Constertine Trophy for the top all-rounder in Division One following a terrific first season with the Bennett Lane club.

Heaton have made a major signing ahead of next season, capturing former Yorkshire player Gary Fellows from Wrenthorpe.

Fellows has had a hugely successful spell at the Wrens, where he won the CYL Premier Division title, Jack Hampshire Trophy and Heavy Woollen Cup last season.

Wrenthorpe just missed out on a four trophy haul when they were beaten by Whitley Hall in the Black Sheep Yorkshire Champions final.

Former New Farnley captain Danny Busfield has also returned to Heaton, bringing with him wicketkeeper Joe Suggitt.

Morley all-rounder Kashif Naveed won the Margaret E Mallinson Trophy for the Division Two batting averages and was also named the division’s all-rounder of the year at Friday’s awards ceremony.

Saltaire stalwart Julien Young won the league’s top accolade, the Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy, having served the Roberts Park club for 51 years as a player, groundsman and fundraiser.


21 years service to the JCT600 Bradford League Umpires Association

Gerald Taylor

WH Foster Jubilee Trophy First X1 Division One Batting Averages

Lee Goddard (East Bierley)

WH Foster Jubilee Trophy First X1 Division One Bowling Averages

Kez Ahmed (East Bierley)

Margaret E Mallinson First X1 Batting Averages Division Two

Kashif Naveed (Morley)

Michael Fearnley Memorial Trophy First X1 Division Two Bowling Averages

Damon Gormley (Yeadon)

Stafford Heginbotham Tebro Trophy Highest Batting Aggregate Division One & Two

Alex Stead (Lightcliffe)

Stafford Heginbotham Castle Trophy Highest Aggregate wickets

Pieter Swanepoel (Woodlands)

A Waddington Fielding Trophy

Chris Taylor (Lightcliffe)

Federation Trophy Fielding Division Two

Robert Ellis (Gomersal)

F Milton Watmough Wicketkeeping Trophy 1st XI since 1979

Matthew Duce (Bradford & Bingley)

Parkside Trophy (Division Two Wicketkeeping Most Victims)

Jonathan Wilkinson (Keighley)

Stan Longbottom Safe Hands Trophy 1st X1 Most League Stumpings

Mark Horne (Lightcliffe)

David Bairstow Golden Glove Trophy Most Victims in a match

Franny Nelson (Hanging Heaton) & Tom Williams (Gomersal)

Pennine Trophy Highest individual score

Alex Atkinson (Bradford & Bingley)

Harry Crabtree Fastest Fifty Trophy Division One & Two 1st Xis

James Davies (Bradford & Bingley)

John Heaton Memorial Trophy for highest opening partnership in Division One or Two

Adam Greenwood & Richard Gould (Gomersal)

R Park Guild Trophy 2ndXI Division One Batting Average

Cieran Garner (Woodlands)

JR Burnet Trophy 2ndXI Division One Bowling Average

Umar Rehman (Hanging Heaton)

Bruce W Moss Trophy Second Teams Division Two Batting Average

Robert Dunn (Bradford & Bingley)

W Hopkinson 2ndXI Division Two Bowling Average

Dave Hall (Keighley)

A Leslie Mollett Trophy 2ndXI Fielding

Jack Lawrence (Hanging Heaton)

G Palfreyman Wicketkeeping Trophy Divisions 1 &2 Most victims

Tom Williams (Gomersal)

Mick Illingworth Safe Glove Trophy Most Stumpings Second Teams Division 1 & 2

Tom Williams (Gomersal)

Sir Learie Constantine All Rounders Trophy Division One

David Stiff (Hanging Heaton)

Jack Hill All Rounders Trophy Division Two

Kashif Naveed (Morley)

Gordon Bowers Young Cricketer of the Year Trophy

Fahid Rehman (Saltaire)

Ernest Lodge Trophy Young Spin Bowler of the Year

Edward Walmsley (Pudsey Congs)

Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket Award


Tom Mathers Ground of the Year


JCT 600 Players’ Player of theYear

Lee Goddard (East Bierley)

JCT 600 Unsung Hero

Peter Jackson (Spen Victoria)

Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy For outstanding service

Julien Young (Saltaire)

n President Keith Moss revealed at Friday’s dinner that New Farnley will join the Bradford League next season.

Farnley have been given an early release by the Central Yorkshire League after accepting an invitation by the management board to join and it means that there will now be 14 teams in Division Two next season, which will eliminate blank dates.