Young Leeds United star Cook up for Football League award

Leeds United midfielder Lewis Cook has been shortlisted for the Sky Bet Championship’s LFE Apprentice of the Year award at the forthcoming Football League Awards.
Lewis CookLewis Cook
Lewis Cook

The Football League has announced the first shortlists for The Football League Awards 2015, the 10th anniversary of the annual awards ceremony that celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League’s 72 clubs.

To tie in with the 10th anniversary, this year there are a total of 10 categories with shortlists for four categories announced so far.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday, April 19.

Drew Barrand, Football League marketing director, said: “The Football League Awards 2015 provides not just the opportunity to recognise star performances, both on and off the pitch over the last year, but also the chance to celebrate the last 10 years of the event.

“This is the best year yet in terms of the standard and number of entries so to make the shortlists is a real achievement by the clubs and individuals involved.

“We wish all those nominated the best of luck and look forward to a fantastic evening in April when we will announce the winners.”

The shortlists announced are:

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Family Club of the Year: Brighton & Hove Albion, Colchester United, Middlesbrough, Milton Keynes Dons, Plymouth Argyle, Stevenage.

Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year: Blackburn Rovers, Doncaster Rovers, Derby County, Norwich City, Brighton & Hove Albion.

PFA Player in the Community: Hope Akpan (Reading), Elliot Omozusi (Leyton Orient), Danny Shittu (Millwall).

LFE Apprentice of the Year

Championship: Lewis Cook (Leeds United), Fred Onyedinma (Millwall), Joe Gomez (Charlton Athletic).

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

League One: George Cooper (Crewe Alexandra), Louis Reed (Sheffield United), Giorgio Rasulo (Milton Keynes Dons).

League Two: Conor Chaplin (Portsmouth), Ben Harrison (AFC Wimbledon), Ryan Johnson (Stevenage).

There will also be awards on the night for the Mitre Goal of the Year, Capital One Supporter of the Year, Sky Bet Players of the Year, Young Player of the Year, the Sir Tom Finney Award and Contribution to League Football.

Alongside these there will be two special categories to mark the 10th anniversary of the event – the Tokio Marine Club Hero Award recognising a member of staff at each of the 72 Football League clubs, and the Football Manager Team of the Decade with 11 selected players and a manager selected based on performances from the past 10 seasons.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Fans currently have the chance to have a say in one of the award categories, with voting for the Mitre Goal of the Year shortlist taking place in conjunction with Soccer AM. To see the goals and vote visit of the year

Related topics: