East Bierley host re-union of Lord’s cup winners

East Bierley CC will host a re-union to celebrate the 35th anniversary of their Lord’s National Cup triumph later this month.

Monday, 10th November 2014, 7:28 am

East Bierley overcame Welsh side Ynysygerwn in the 1979 National Village Trophy and are inviting players and spectators who witnessed the memorable success to a gathering in the club on Saturday November 22.

Coaches ferried spectators to the home of English cricket, when it appeared the whole of the East Bierley village seemed to be represented.

East Bierley racked up an impressive total of 216-4, which was then a record for the competition’s final, and they went on to defeat Ynsygerwn by more than 100 runs.

Sign up to our daily Dewsbury Reporter Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The East Bierley team included Murphy Walwyn, Claude Defoe, Barry Hodgkinson, Freddy Jones, Brian Nurse, Tony Wilson and Tony Pickersgill and was captained by current JCT600 Bradford League umpire Phil Taylor.

Walwyn, who remains a popular figure throughout Bradford League circles, has confirmed he will be attending, along with Taylor, Wilson, Pickersgill and Barry Hodgkinson.

The event starts at 8pm and all cricket followers are welcome to attend.