Cleckheaton Sports bowlers celebrate indoor title treble

A group of bowlers representing Cleckheaton Sports have achieved a bit of sporting history.

They clinched the Division One indoor title at Whitcliffe Mount Sports Centre to seal a remarkable treble, having won the Division Three crown in 2010 and then clinched Division Two title last year.

The team of John Skirrow, Keith Colton, Gordon Wilkinson, Bob Sutcliffe and Roy Chapman will receive their prizes at the centre tonight (Thursday) at the league awards (8pm start).

North Kirklees

Veterans BA

Team Knockout Cups. Preliminary round (April 26, 1.30pm start).

Division 1

Mirfield Old Bank A v Cleckheaton Spts B at Holroyd Park

Spen Victoria B v Birkenshaw A at Mirfield Veterans.

Hanging Heaton A v Cleckheaton Spts A at Crow Nest Park

Mirfield Old Bank B v Spen Victoria A at Ossett C&BC.

Division 2.

Ossett C&BC A v Drighlington Park at Wilton Park No1.

Hanging Heaton B v Earlsheaton A at Firth Park(front )

Overthorpe A v Birstall IDL at Firth Park (back)

Heckmondwike v Birkenshaw B at Cleckheaton Moorend

Division 3

Millbridge A v Earlsheaton C at Soothill

Staincliffe A v Mirfield Veterans A at Hightown Libs

Royds Park B v Overthorpe B at Cleckheaton Sports (top)

Wilton Park A v Earlsheaton B at Thornhill C&BC.

Division 4

Morton House v Staincliffe B at Royds Park

Firth Park v Batley C&BC at Birkenshaw Park

Soothill B v Ossett C&B C at Millbridge Park.


Qualifying round

Rastrick 221, Ossett Flying Horse 217; Pudsey B 134, Lower Hopton A 252; Pudsey Littlemoor A 250, Mirfield Old Bank B 142; Morton House 240, Hollies S&S 175; Hanging Heaton v Shipley w/o; Lower Hopton B 183, Pudsey Littlemoor B 225; Cleck Spts B 159, Clayton Victoria 242; Greengates 198, Spen Victoria B 232; Guiseley 252, Hightown Club 158; Elland C&BC 248, Cleck Moorend 159; Brighouse Spts B 196, Mirfield Old Bank A 235; Harold Club 212, Overthorpe Spts 186; Cleck Spts A 206, Pudsey A 238; Crossgates A 233, Crossgates B 176; Eccleshill 222, Spen Victoria A 226; Brighouse Spts A 252, Spen Victoria C 107.

First round (Saturday April 7):

Shipley v Littlemoor B at Guiseley.

Rastrick v Lower Hopton A at Harold Club Church

Pudsey A v Harold Club at Brighouse Spts.

Spen Victoria B v Elland CA&BC at Rastrick.

Morton House v Brighouse Spts A at Pudsey.

Guiseley v Crossgates A at Lower Hopton.

Mirfield Old Bank A v Littlemoor A at Elland CA&BC CP.

Spen Victoria A v Clayton Victoria at Mirfield Old Bank.

Pilling Cup

First round (Saturday April 7)

Hightown Club v Cleck Moorend at Cleck Spts top.

Spen Victoria C v Cleck Spts A at Hanging Heaton.

Bye v Eccleshill.

Lower Hopton B v Crossgates B at Hightown Club.

Mirfield Old Bank B v The Hollies at Spen Victoria bottom.

Overthorpe Spts v Ossett Flying Horse at The Hollies.

Pudsey B v Brighouse Spts B at Cleck Moorend.

Greengates v Cleck Sports B at Overthorpe Spts.

The next meeting is on Monday April 9 at Cleckheaton Moorend Club, 7.45pm startWinning teams to provide results sheets and the appropriate levies on the night