Battyeford move top as New Inn are defeated

BATTYEFORD are the new leaders in Heavy Woollen Sunday League Division One after hammering Birkenshaw Reserves 7-1.

Joe Green, Barry Mitchell and Richard Newman all scored twice for Battyeford, with John Rhodes completing the tally. Joshua Smith hit Birkenshaw’s consolation.

Previous leaders New Inn Staincliffe lost 5-3 at AFC Chickenley, who had Michael Chadwick, Tim Clarke (two each) and Sam Pickles on target. New Inn, who are now a point behind Battyeford, replied through Chris Shaw, Matthew Bugg and Simon Moore.

Mirfield Town lie third after braces from Tom Wilks and Sam Atkinson led them to a 4-2 win at bottom side Bay Horse East Ardsley (Mark Eglington and Karl Nightingale).

Thirsty Man eased to a 6-0 win at Overthorpe Town thanks to goals from Lee Ryan, Patrick Davies, Steve Mayfield, Scott Ryan, Adam Smith and a Lamin Bojang penalty.

Scholes Athletic edged out Howden Clough 3-2. Craig Wood, Ben Burkill and an own goal were Scholes’ scorers, with Stefan Godbold netting twice for Clough.