Batley win to move clear at top of Championship A table

Maqsood Hashmi in action for Heckmondwike against Adwalton.
Maqsood Hashmi in action for Heckmondwike against Adwalton.

Batley hold a 17-point lead at the top of Allrounder Bradford League Championship A after they defeated Baildon by 20 runs and second-placed Yeadon suffered a seven-wicket defeat at Liversedge.

Opener Aqeel Mukhtar hit his second century in successive games to set Batley on their way to a total of 195-8.

Mukhtar hit 11 fours as he batted throughout his side’s entire innings of 195-8 to make 103 not out.

Tariq Mehboob (41) provided the main support against an attack in which left-arm spinner Mushtaq Ahmed took 4-42.

Baildon’s reply was led by Jonny Reynolds (38) and Mounam Ejaz (38no) but they were restricted to 175-9 by some accurate bowling from Aqsad Ali (4-31).

Openers Jessie Dinnie (74) and Mark Hydes (62no) shared a first-wicket stand of 125 as Liversedge eased past Yeadon’s 176-7 with 7.5 overs in hand.

Zach Wheatley top scored with 59 not out for Yeadon as Wasim Khaliq picked up 3-40.

Fourth-placed Osset maintained their good run of form with a 103-run win over Undercliffe.

Shabir Rashid hit a sparkling 122 not out, including seven sixes and 12 fours, after opener Harvey Anderson struck 46 as Ossett posted 257-7.

Spinner Amir Hussain was the best of the Undercliffe bowlers with 4-47.

Raheel Ahmed (3-27), Khalid Usman (3-36) and Sanderson (3-63) helped dismiss Undercliffe for 154.

Birstall followed up last week’s victory at Undercliffe with an eight-wicket home success against Hunslet Nelson to move clear of the bottom two.

Victory was set up by the bowling of Alexander Debs (5-42) and Alexander Drake (4-30) as Hunslet Nelson’s brittle batting cracked once more and they were dismissed for 99.

Craig Wood made an unbeaten 48 to ensure that Birstall won with ease, picking up a third success of the season.

It was an unhappy day for local sides in Championship B with Hartshead Moor, Gomersal, Spen Victoria and Hopton Mills all suffering defeats.

Captain Grant Soames took a match-winning 5-19 as Methley bowled out Spen Victoria for 151 to secure a 118-run win. Peter Jackson made a top score of 52 for the losers.

Methley’s total of 206-9 owed much to the efforts of Hamid Khan (91), Ashton Blakey (65) and Marcus Walmsley (40).

Overseas player Darryl Hendricks made a fine 81 as Wrenthorpe took just 18.5 overs to pass Hartshead Moor’s total of 136 and secure an eight-wicket win.

Craig Field (45) and Joe Bowman (30) led the way but the other Hartshead batsmen struggled to come to terms with the bowling of Greg Wood (5-28) and Matthew Race (4-40).

Bowling Old Lane secured a nine-wicket success against Hopton Mills.

They dismissed Mills for just 62 with Adal Islam claiming an impressive 6-27 and Sadaqat Zaman (4-33).

Islam followed up with an unbeaten 31 as Old Lane reached their target in just 10 overs.

Indian spinner Marupuri Suresh took 4-47 as Bankfoot bowled out Gomersal for 146 to secure a 60-run win.

George Senior (33) was the top scorer for Gomersal who had earlier found Neil Nicholson (55) in good form for Bankfoot, despite the efforts of Adam Greenwood (3-24) and Chris Rhodes (3-55).

Leaders Townville returned to winning ways with an emphatic eight-wicket victory at Altofts.