Batley Seconds title win seals club double

Batley Second team clinched the Championship B crown to secure a club double title triumph. 'Picture: Allrounder Bradford League
Batley Second team clinched the Championship B crown to secure a club double title triumph. 'Picture: Allrounder Bradford League

Batley Second team completed a memorable first season in the Allrounder Bradford League by clinching the Championship B title.

For the first time in Batley’s history both the first and second teams have won their respective titles and with it promotion to the Premier League next season.

Batley Seconds clinched their title by beating Hartshead Moor by 102 runs in their final match of the season.

Roheil Hussain struck his ninth half-century in 14 innings and ended with 65, while Ebrahim Laher top scored with 69 not out and Uzair Majid chipped in with 44 as Batley declared in 239-6 after 47 overs.

Hartshead lost two early wickets but a partnership of 60 between Christopher Swift (25) and Laurence Brooke (35) brought them back into the game at 94-3.

Captain Saqib Talib sparked a Hartshead collapse, claiming 5-33, as the home side were dismissed for 137 and Batley celebrated a notable club double.

Batley finished three points ahead of Gomersal, who beat Carlton by 135 runs in their final game.

Tony Blain (36) and Phil Carter (32) helped Gomersal to 196-8 before Carlton was dismissed for 61 as Ben Ford (3-12) and Ryan Kitson (3-17) impressed.

Hopton Mills secured a five-wicket win over Azaad, who were dismissed for 119 as Arshad Ali claimed 7-27.

Ahmed Farhaz (42) and James Woodwood (37) steered Hopton to victory, which sees them finish eighth, a place above Spen Victoria, who were bowled out for 94 and slipped to an eight-wicket defeat against Wakefield St Michael’s.

Championship A runners-up Cleckheaton secured an eight wicket win over Baildon and end four points behind champions Bowling Old Lane.

Mamoon Rashid (57) and Miraj Khan (51) helped Baildon post 198-9 but half centuries from Shahid Rehman (81no), Joseph Robinson (55no) and Elliott Hallas (50) enabled Cleckheaton pass that score with nearly 10 overs to spare.

Ossett won a thrilling game at Wagon Lane after chasing down Bradford & Bingley’s 225-8 to win by five wickets with two balls to spare.

Chris Hosley led the way with 72 and was supported by Richard Fenwick (52) and Gavin Goodlad (47). Dave Crichlow (4-65) was the pick of the Bradford & Bingley bowlers.

Warren Allitt (65) and Matthew Keeton (61) were the key contributors to Bradford & Bingley’s total.

Abbas Wajid took 4-48 as Bankfoot wrapped up a 27-run win over Scholes.

Jordan Tailford top scored with 60 in Bankfoot’s 163 despite spinner Tom Smith taking 4-22.

Brighouse conceded their game at Birstall and Keighley did likewise Idle.