This interactive map shows the tier levels for every area of England

Swathes of towns and cities in England have been moved into the highest level of coronavirus restrictions as the Government tries to tackle a third wave of infections.

Speaking to the House of Commons yesterday (30 Dec), Health Secretary Matt Hancock announced that a further 20 million people living in England will be placed under the strict Covid-19 measures of Tier 4 from 31 December, and millions more will be placed into Tier 3.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Earlier this month the introduction of a fourth tier of Covid rules halted the Christmas plans of many, with the Government blaming the increasing prominence of a new fast-spreading strain of the virus.

Those under Tier 4 restrictions are advised to stay at home unless they have a “reasonable excuse” to leave their home, with travel to and from Tier 4 areas severely restricted.

Which areas of England are in which tiers?

Large parts of the East Midlands, North West and North East have now joined London, the South East and the East of England in the harshest level of restrictions.

You can use this interactive map to see which tier your area is in. Hover over the map or use the search box to find out.


What are the restrictions on meeting people in Tier 4? 

You cannot meet other people indoors unless you live with them or they are part of your existing support bubble.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Outdoors, you can only meet one person from another household in a public place.

Am I allowed to leave my home? 

You must stay at home and only leave for a specific purpose or if you have a “reasonable excuse”.

This includes going to work if it cannot be done from home, shopping for essentials such as food and medicine, attending education or training, using registered childcare, outdoor exercise and for medical reasons.

Did any areas move down a tier?

No areas across England will be moving down a tier. Instead, locations will either remain in the same tier, or will be placed in a higher tier.

No area will be in Tier 2, and only the 2,000 people living on the Isles of Scilly will be in Tier 1, also known as the ‘medium’ alert.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Related stories